Having a plan isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.

I spent 18 years of troubles, concerns and all the rest of it, looking for something, anything to direct me in life. I wanted a goal, ambitions, dreams and passion; I settled for getting through it, what a waste. But from 18 to 21, somewhere in there it started to come together, not just a little bit, but entirely.

Get my degree, get qualified as a level 2 PT, take a nutritional course, compete in powerlifting, move to London, take my Masters in sports therapy/psychology, work part time in a gym, compete in men’s physique, qualify as PT level 3, work as a private trainer and nutritionist, join a practice on part/full time working as a sports related counsellor, take over/open a gym….oh look spare time again after that.

A 10 year (or so) plan… 10 YEARS. People say you need a plan and it’s the last thing I would preach as I entirely disagree. Passion, hard work and general ambition will take you far enough if you are willing to stick with it. However it is nice having a plan, an idea and direction.

Then there is the down side. The pressure. My god the pressure.

It’s not that it scares me, it doesn’t at all. What it does is put in front of me my dreams. Now that is unbelievably hard because without having ANYTHING, I have EVERYTHING to lose.

I will work to death, I will train daily, study all night and do whatever is needed to get there, but unquestionably it scares me.

Wow this was just a rant really wasn’t it?

My point is, if you have a passion, damn well chase it, there is no bigger waste in life than having a passion and not pursuing it. You do not have to know where you are going or how you will get there, but do not stop chasing it.

Aspire to Inspire.

Leave a Reply

